2013 ETS Meeting

November 18, 2013

November 19th through 21st

Westminster faculty, students, and alumni will be presenting papers at the 65th Annual Meeting of the Evangelical Theological Society.  The meeting will be held in Baltimore, MD from November 19th through 21st, on the theme of "Evangelicalism, Inerrancy, and the Evangelical Theological Society: Retrospect and Prospect."

Visit the ETS website for more information, and to download the conference brochure. Pre-registration has closed, but walk-in registration is available.

If you are a Westminster alumnus, contact Ellie McNeal by November 6th to RSVP for the "Alumni and Friends Lunch" on the Wednesday of the conference. Dr. Gaffin will be speaking on inerrancy during this luncheon.

Westminster faculty participating:

Dr. Greg Beale:

  • 10:10-11:40am, Tuesday, Panel Discussion: "The Hebrew Bible as Christian Scripture"
  • 9:20-10:00am, Wednesday, "The Idea of the Temple in John’s Gospel, with a Focus on Temple Worship in John 4" (panel to follow)
  • 3:00-3:40pm, Wednesday, "The Cognitive Peripheral Vision of Biblical Writers"

Dr. David Garner: 5:30-6:10pm, Wednesday, "Redemptive History, Epistemology, and Biblical Authority: An Apostolic Exhortation for the Post-Apostolic Age (2 Peter 1:12-21)"

Dr. K. Scott Oliphint: 11:00-11:40am, Tuesday, "Covenantal Apologetics"

Dr. Vern Poythress:

  • 4:15-4:35pm, Tuesday, "Inerrancy, Harmonization and the Synoptic Gospels: A Response to Darrell Bock" (panel to follow)
  • 1:50-2:10, Thursday, one of several presenters on "Pedaogical Best Practices on the Doctrine of Inerrancy" (panel to follow

Dr. Carl Trueman: 3:00-6:10pm, Wednesday, "Panel Discussion: An Evangelical Thomas?
A Review of Frederick Bauerschmidt’s Thomas Aquinas: Faith, Reason and Following Christ (OUP, 2013)"

Westminster Ph.D. students and candidates:

  • Mark Giaccobbe
  • Thomas Keene
  • David Filson
  • Paul Maxwell
  • Randall Pederson

Westminster Alumni:

  • J.D. Atkins
  • Mark Boda
  • Frank Chan
  • Rob Dalrymple
  • John Frame
  • Wayne Grudem
  • Jeong Koo Jeon
  • H. Wayne Johnson
  • Myron Kauk
  • Dongsu Kim
  • Brian P. Luther
  • John Makujina
  • James A. Meek
  • Brad F. Mellon
  • Stephen Nichols
  • John Ronning
  • Nathan Sasser
  • Gary Steward
  • Kenneth Stewart
  • Melville Stewart
  • Alan Strange
  • Scott A. Swanson
  • Kevin Vanhoozer
  • Guy Prentiss Waters
  • John Halsey Wood

Visit the ETS website for more information, and to download the conference brochure.